Combating Desertification

The world’s drylands occupy a vast region and are home to more than 2.5 billion people. Many of the world’s regions are adversely affected by desertification and the concept of desertification is rooted in the charter of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD). UNCCD was adopted in 1994 and is the first international treaty to, amongst other things, emphasize the need for an integrated approach to combating desertification which includes activities as part of the integrated development of land in arid, semi-arid and dry sub-humid areas which are aimed at the prevention and/or reduction of land degradation; rehabilitation of partly degraded land and reclamation of desertified land.

Serious land degradation is a problem that many countries face. The economic costs are significant but human tragedy of crops and animals destroyed, and lives lost bring home the true nature and extent of the problem. Add to this are the impact on biodiversity and the impact on global climate change as the albedo changes. 

Desertification often results from the degradation of the vegetation cover by overgrazing, over trampling, fuelwood collection, repeated burning, or inappropriate agricultural practices, which leads to a general decrease in the productivity of the land and in accelerated degradation of soil resource, and eventually affects the capacity of the vegetation to recover and constitutes the principal mechanism of irreversible damage to the environment. Therefore, the real task of combating desertification is one of implementing more sustainable land use practices and changing the enabling environment that will allow better stewardship to take root and prosper. 

Regional Efforts

It is ingrained in our minds that deserts equate to Africa. In fact, there are deserts, arid and semi-arid regions in China, South America and even in North America as well. Holistic approach to proper ecosystem land management is employed. It is a long tough road.

China

China is one of the developing countries with vast deserts and desertified areas and 60% of its population is living in the affected areas. China has been severely hit by persistent drought and desertification. Although drought and desertification must be distinguished, they can amplify each other’s impact.

North Africa

North Africa has a Mediterranean climate with hot dry summers and cool wet winters. Large area of the land of countries like Libya, Morocco and Egypt are classified as deserts or semi-desert and land use is governed by water availability. Soil loss from wind and water erosion and overgrazing of the steppes by livestock are common immediate cause of desertification. Over the last century there has been a decrease in rainfall throughout the Mediterranean region. Climate change predictions for North Africa show rising temperatures with potentially grim impact on the region’s already stressed resources including food and water.


Terminology and Definitions

Desertification: In the early years of worldwide efforts to combat desertification, there have been misunderstanding and misguided practices due to lack of clarity in the definition of the subject. It is for this reason that defining relating concepts clearly and consistently is of paramount importance in treating combating desertification as a worldwide environmental issue. To date, most countries have agreed to adopt the definition adopted by UNCCD. Desertification is now taken as land degradation in arid, semi-arid and dry sub-humid areas resulting from various factors, mainly climatic variation and changes and human activities. Desert regions where P/ETP<0.05 are excluded. Desertification does not refer to the expansion of existing deserts. It occurs because dry land ecosystems, which covers over one third of the world’s land area, are extremely vulnerable to over-exploitation and inappropriate land use practices.

A consequence of misunderstanding about desertification, fuelled by the belief that desert spreading is the primary problem, is the planting in sand dunes but the benefit/cost ratio of such planting is low or negative. Progress in combating desertification requires a major re-think and the application of holistic approaches such as Integrated Ecosystem Management.

Land Degradation – means reduction or loss of the biological or economic productivity and complexity of rain fed cropland, irrigated cropland, or range, pasture, forest and woodlands resulting from land use or from a process or combination of processes, including processes arising from human activities and habitation patterns, such as soil erosion caused by wind and/or water; deterioration of the physical, chemical and biological or economic properties of soil; and long-term loss of vegetation.

Arid, semi-arid and dry sub-humid areas – mean areas other than polar and sub-polar regions, in which the ratio of annual precipitation to potential evapotranspiration falls within the range from 0.05-0.65. Hyper-arid areas, including real deserts such as the Sahara and China’s Taklamakan were excluded from the UN definition.

Reference

Combating Desertification in Asia, Africa and the Middle East – Proven practices, G. Ali Heshmati, Victor R. Squires (editors), Springer Netherlands, 2013, ISBN 978-94-007-6651-8, 476 pp.

防治荒漠化

世界旱地幅員遼闊,是25億多人的家園,當中不少地區受到荒漠化的影響。荒漠化的概念是《聯合國防治荒漠化公約》(UNCCD)的核心。 於1994年通過的《防治荒漠化公約》是首個國際協議強調必須採取綜合辦法防治荒漠化的國際條約,包括乾旱、半乾旱和亞濕潤乾旱地區為可持續發展而進行的土地綜合開發的部分活動,目的是防止和/或減少土地退化,恢復部分退化的土地,以及墾復已荒漠化的土地。

嚴重的土地退化是許多國家面對的問題,除了成巨大的經濟損失,農作物和牲畜的破壞,以致人命損失的悲劇反映問題的根本及其程度。 此外,亦對生物多樣性和因反照率變化對全球氣候變化造成影響。

荒漠化往往是由於過度放牧、過度踐踏、薪柴收集、反覆燃燒田野或不當的農耕做法導致植被的退化,土地生產力普遍下降,土壤資源加速退化,最終影響植被的恢復能力,構成對環境造成不可逆轉損害的主要機制。 因此,防治荒漠化的真正任務是實施較可持續的土地利用做法,改變有利環境,使更好的管理能夠紮根和發展。

區域努力

很多時有沙漠等同於非洲的刻板印象,然而,世界各地如中國、南美洲以至北美洲均有荒漠、乾旱和半乾旱地區。防治荒漠化須採用適當的生態系統土地管理的整體方法,這是一條漫長而艱難的道路。

中國

中國是擁有廣闊荒漠和荒漠化地區的發展中國家之一,全國約六成人口住在受影響地區。中國一直受到持續乾旱和荒漠化的嚴重影響。 雖然必須區分乾旱和荒漠化,但它們可以擴大彼此的影響。

北非

北非的地中海氣候,夏季炎熱乾燥,冬季温和潮濕。 利比亞、摩洛哥和埃及等國的大片土地被界定為荒漠或半荒漠,而土地使用受水量限制。 風蝕和水蝕造成的土壤流失,以及過度放牧是常見荒漠化近因。自上世紀,整個地中海地區的降雨量有所減少;對北非的氣候變化預測顯示,氣溫上升對該地區本已緊張的資源,包括糧食和水,可能產生嚴重影響。


術語和定義

荒漠化 — 早年國際間在防治荒漠化方面的工作,由於對問題的定義不明確,造成誤解和誤導做法。 因此,明確和一致地界定相關概念對於將防治荒漠化視為一個世界性的環境問題至關重要。現時,大多數國家已同意採用《聯合國防治荒漠化公約》的定義。「荒漠化」是指包括氣候變異和人類活動在內的種種因素造成的乾旱、半乾旱和亞濕潤乾旱地區的土地退化,並不包括年降水量與潛在蒸發散比<0.05的荒漠地區;荒漠化並非指現有沙漠的擴張,其發生是因為佔世界土地面積超過三分之一的旱地生態系統極易受到過度開發和不當土地使用做法的影響。

對荒漠化的誤解,及誤以為荒漠蔓延是首要問題,致使在沙丘植樹,其成本效益很低甚至在零以下。 防治荒漠化的進展需要重新思考和採用綜合生態系統管理等整體方法。

土地退化 — 是指由於使用土地或由於一種營力或數種營力結合致使乾旱、半乾旱和亞濕潤乾旱地區雨澆地、水澆地或草原、牧場、森林和林地的生物或經濟生產力和複雜性下降或喪失,其中包括:風蝕和水蝕致使土壤物質流失;土壤的物理、化學和生物特性或經濟特性退化,以及自然植被長期喪失。

乾旱、半乾旱和亞濕潤乾旱地區 — 是指年降水量與潛在蒸發散比在0.05至0.65之間的地區,但不包括極地和副極地。 極乾旱地區,包括撒哈拉沙漠和中國塔克拉瑪干等真正的荒漠,被排除在聯合國定義之外。

參考

Combating Desertification in Asia, Africa and the Middle East – Proven practices, G. Ali Heshmati, Victor R. Squires (editors), Springer Netherlands, 2013, ISBN 978-94-007-6651-8, 476 pp.